On CD cataloging, and children singing popular music

February 22, 2006

We are short one cataloger, so as a result, I’m picking up some extra cataloging. Since I don’t get to catalog all that much, and since I do enjoy cataloging, this is exciting for me. Not only am I cataloging, but I am cataloging audiovisual materials, which gives me ample opportunity to do things like insert added entries for every guest artist on a hip hop album. This sometimes means that there are numerous added entries on some of these records, which causes some irritation when it comes to controlling the headings, but you never know when someone is going to want the collected works of Bun B, right?

My pile of items includes stuff I have been waiting for (I Am a Bird Now by Antony and the Johnsons, which was out of stock the last time I went CD shopping; Arular by M.I.A.), some stuff that I am amazed that our library does not own (What’s the 411? by Mary J. Blige), as well as some, uh, crap (i.e., the latest album by Silverchair). 

Also included: children’s CDs. Whenever I catalog children’s CDs, I start reconsidering my desire to have children. Especially when the latest edition of the Kidz Bop series passes through my dirty little paws. 

Kidz Bop, for the uninitiated (and you are likely one of the uninitiated if you do not have children under the age of eleven and/or a hankering for musical oddities) is a series of CDs featuring children (and, seemingly, one adult) singing the latest pop hits. Usually, it’s pretty typical top-40 stuff–some light R&B, a little bit of Ashlee Simpson, perhaps some Avril Lavigne. But every so often, they sneak in something so incongruous that you just think…wha? What posessed the svengalis behind the Kidz Bop series to select that song?

Kidz Bop 7 featured a chorus of prepubescent children performing…wait for it…”Float On” by Modest Mouse. Forget Sun Kil Moon. You haven’t truly heard a Modest Mouse cover until you’ve listened to a herd of kids (and some adult who I persist in calling “their handler”) performing “Float On.” It was so freaky that I couldn’t listen for very long. The newest installment of Kidz Bop (that would be Kidz Bop 8) features a cover of “Take Me Out” by Franz Ferdinand. And no, I am not going to listen to it.

Also, there is a Kidz Bop version of the One Tree Hill theme song. I am sure that it is not as good as my “Karaoke Revolution Party” version of the One Tree Hill theme song, which is truly epic.

All of this makes me terrified that I am going to spawn a child who somehow happens to get exposed to Kidz Bop through a friend (or through the television–they must be marketing this somewhere) and subsequently becomes obessed with it, thus sentencing me to several years’ worth of repeated listenings to sanitized versions of popular songs performed by children (and, uh, their handler).

It also makes me wonder how my mom didn’t go nuts when I was obsessed with the Alvin and the Chipmunks classic Urban Chipmunk. I almost wore that album out when I was eight years old. Hey, she bought it for me. Enabler.

One Response to “On CD cataloging, and children singing popular music”

  1. Amanda Says:

    I dig the new title. Glad you’re blogging again, especially now that I’m a haus frau.


Leave a Reply

